Snow in the airports

With many of my friends stranded by snow in various European airports, especially in the UK, I am starting to worry about my flight back home this weekend.

I found an interesting video on BBC on how airports in Russia manage to stay open in this weather..

‘There is snow in winter?! Oh no, what a surprise!!’ is what I first thought about.. But coming from Latvia, where having loads of snow is just a regular winter day, airport closure due to snow seemed silly at first. But of course having such weather is not common for a lot of countries, so we have to be understanding.. and hope everyone gets where they want to be in this holiday..

I recently wrote a research paper on airlines’ use of social media during crisis… and after seeing all the advantages on using Facebook and Twitter in crisis communication with customers, it seems like a good idea for airports to establish for example a Facebook page.. just an idea :)

