Orlando – the city, not the amusement parks

Back to my back-pacing trip.. stop 2: Orlando, FL

I will show you a slightly different Orlando this time..

You can read about my adventures in Disney World and Universal Studios in my post 2 years ago. This time I just chilled by the pool and explored Downtown Orlando a bit. With all the amazing Theme Parks and other attractions people seem to forget about Downtown – it is small, cute and walk-able ..an the even is a free city bus if you are too lazy (or hot) to walk

IMG_5577

Right in the Orlando Dowtown – on International drive there is a Orlando Visitor Center that had useful info about the happenings in the city, you can also buy tickets there. It is also a good idea to think about saving by getting various discounts, like Free Magicard: Orlando’s Discount card – you can print it here

IMG_5542

I was lucky to stay just by the lake Eola (in the picture above) as I have wonderful friends all around the world :) But there are plenty of hotels that also have last minute deals (just be careful and don’t plan your stay during a huge conference as the you might have not that a big of a choice)

IMG_5547

There are plenty of restaurants in Downtown Orlando  and pretty great prices on food and drinks.. I will quote my friend and say: “Every hour is happy in Orlando”

IMG_5548

As I love checking out Art galleries the Orlando Slice Website is quite nice information source on the art scene of the city. And if you want to explore the local culture, check out the Milk District which is around Robinson street

IMG_5556

These two painting I saw in the Grand Bohemian Hotel Art Gallery – very elegant, lovely and charming hotel in Downtown Orlando with it’s own mini art gallery

IMG_5557

This interesting mosaic of Mona Lisa was at the City Arts Factory also in Downtown Orlando

ORLANDO

And let’s not forget about the Orlando Magic basketball team – I was quite happy to raid their gift shop and buy some Dwight Howard jerseys on sale sing he moved to LA Lakers. Unfortunately the season hadn’t started yet when I was there in September, but I was lucky enough to see Orlando Magic play against former New Jersey Nets lest season

IMG_5583

All together I was quite glad there there is plenty to do and see in Orlando without having to rent a car, but of course for the full first time experience the Theme Parks  is a must!

How did I get to Orlando? You can read about it here

I will be back in Florida to try some Aligator meat next time :)

