Romantic getaway in Budapest

Budapest was never on my bucketlist and I don’t know why. I am glad I went to see this beautiful city and enjoy a few days away with my boyfriend – a perfect choice for our romantic winter getaway. Budapest has great restaurants, amazing spas and gorgeous architecture.

image

So what made me fall inlove with the beautiful Budapest so quickly?
Well, first of all Budapest is gorgeaus with many heritage sites to see. The Hungarian capital actually consists of 2 cities Buda and Pest that are separated by the river Danube. There is plenty to see and even though the weather is not the best for photos in winter, it was truly amazing 4 day holiday.

image

Sencond of all, Budapest is surprisingly affordable destination. 4 and 5 star hotels are as cheap as it can get in Europe.  We spend 4 nights in a goregous Queen’s Court Hotel & Resdence for 250eur right in the city center. It was in Pest side of the city, very close to metro and walking distance from Opera and lovely areas with restaurants and bars. oh and the swimming and Jacuzzi were stunning!

image

The city is easy to get around and public transport is really cheap and getting around Budapest is easy.  We got a 3day pass for around 13 eur. We mostly used metro and also trams amd trollybuses to get around. It was quite interesting how some metro stations are quite old and scruffy, some bright new and modern and some historically significant.

image

image

image

Oh and the food, good filling food with amazing spices. I am amazed how simple yet amazing is Hungarian food. They have a perfect ballance of using paprika spices enough to give food great flavour without making it toohot and spicy. We were eating out every day (it is cheap and tasty so why not?). There are various kind of restaurants, we tried fancy ones and simple local ones and loved every single one of them.

image

image

And of course I had to try the local speciality – goulash soup. It is a soup with meat and vegetables seasoned with paprika. Simple and delicious!

image

I know it is not the greatest photo but the food was good. I even bought the spices to try out myself.

image

We had a great time im Budapest and even went to see ballet in the Opera, which of course was gorgeous and affordable. Well I guess you get the point – I really enjoyed our vocation in Budapest.

