Best Restaurants in Budapest

Budapest is definitely one of my favourite European gourmet destinations. They have plenty of great restaurants and these are the ones I discovered during my 4 day trip in Budapest. Some of the restaurants we found in Tripadvisor and some of the we just stumbled upon while exploring Budapest.

image

I

image

Hungarikum Bistro is a cozy little restaurant with amazing traditional Hungarian food. If you like home cooked meal for affordable price – this is the place to go! But make sure to make a reservation – this place is busy even on a weekday evening. I had Crispy Duck Leg with Onion Potatoes and Braised Cabbage and it was exquisite! Main course and a glass of wine for 2 people were just 23 euros, now that price and quality is hard to beat.

image

image

image

Most of the restaurants are very reasonably priced (I was surprised that is it possible to wine and dine in Europe so cheap and well!). One evening we did want to splurge for a Michelin star restaurant and decided to go to Bock Bistro and it was exquisite!  It is located in the gorgeous Corinthia luxury hotel and you also need reservations for this restaurant as it is very popular and for a reason. The Bock Bistro has 5 star French cuisine and a wonderful service.

image

image

image

The Queen’s Court Hotel And Residence where we were staying had a lovely restaurant as well – Chess restaurant. The breakfast was much better than average and we also tried it for lunch and dinner. Lovely Hungarian food and attentive waiters who gave us good advice about which local Hungarian wine to try.

image

image

Another nice family restaurant In Budapest we discovered is Cafe Intenzo. I tried one of the local soups and it had so much flavour in it, my mouth is watering just writing about it. What I love about Hungarian food it the great flavour and it is filling and healthy.

image

image

While exploring Budapest we tries several cute cafes and restaurants or as locals call them – bistros. One of the was this music inspired Cafe with very cute interior.  Oh and of course I had to try Hungarian goulash – the red soup with meat. It is a simple dish with a lot of flavour from paprika. Not the most pretty meal to photograph but it is simply delicious!

image

image

I don’t think I have indulged in so much food on any other trip. And shockingly to me – I didn’t gain any weight. When I think about it – the main courses were so tasty and filling that I only had space for desert once.

